MEDICAL

FIND A SUPPLIER

Looking for protective equipment?

Consult the Guide de fournisseurs essentiels COVID-19 and find a range of Québec products to protect your employees (PDF in French).

DOWNLOAD THE GUIDE 

 

The medical textile sector is represented by nearly one hundred Québec companies. Most are manufacturers of needle-punched, non-woven textile materials, spinning mills, weavers and specialty knitters.

This sector's products and technical textile materials are used for first aid, rehabilitation, hygiene or clinical purposes. Here are some examples: cleaning products (cleaning wipes), wiping paper (toilet paper, paper towels, tissues, disposable washcloths and cleansing wipes), baby hygiene (diapers and cleaning wipes for personal care), feminine hygiene (sanitary pads, panty liners and tampons), incontinence (diapers and washcloths), orthopedics (plaster tape, splints and plaster accessories), wound care (surgical plaster, retention bandages, surgical/post-operative compresses and bandages/adhesive bandages), and compression therapy (compression stockings, compression bandages and hernia bands). It also includes hospital canopies, bathing chairs, masks to treat sleep apnea, underpads, hoist transfer linen and uniforms.

The properties of medical textile products vary according to their applications. Most are absorbent, adhesive or non-adhesive, antimicrobial, anti-odour, anti-perspirant, healing, compressive, durable or disposable, elastic, washable, breathable and flexible, offering a range of movement for comfort and protection against UV exposure.

More than one textile process is used in this sector, including non-woven, weaving and knitting.

Although many of these products are disposable, sustainable development is a priority for companies in this sector. Hygiene product components such as cellulosic fibres, superabsorbent polymers (sodium polyacrylate) and plastic films can be processed and upgraded to develop new liquid absorption products.

 

The fight against COVID brings new companies to the PPE market

In March 2020, in order to combat the COVID-19 pandemic, many textile companies - accustomed to serving other markets - mobilised and adapted their production lines to supply hospitals, Long-Term Care Facilities (LTCF) and other health institutions with personal protective equipment (PPE). At the peak of the crisis, more than 80 Québec companies were producing textile materials, washable or disposable medical gowns, surgical or procedural masks, face covers, lab coats and a multitude of bedding items.

Today, many of them maintain this production and have invested in specialized equipment. Our textile industry now relies on a complete value chain able to meet the demands and requirements of the health sector, whether it involves the manufacture of technical yarns, fabrics, dedicated coatings or treatments, textile products as well as tests, notably to confirm the level of protection (1, 2, 3, 4 or N95).

 

Several companies stand out in this sector, including Attraction, Beau Fab, CDRM, Dermagate, Dristex, Duvaltex, EC3D, Entreprise Prémont, Essity Canada, Fempro, FilSpec, Georges Couray, Geo. Sheard FabricsHudson Supplies, Innotex, Lessard, Logistik Unicorp, Maxime Knitting Mills, Oratex, Quartz Co., Recyc PHP, Regitex, SP ApparelStedfast, Stephan/HTexelTextiles Monterey, Textiles Patlin, Umana Protection and Wazana Clothing.

Find a supplier


© 2020 TechniTextile Québec

Le secteur des textiles médicaux compte plus de 20 entreprises québécoises. La majorité sont des manufacturiers de matériaux textiles non-tissés aiguilletés, des filatures techniques, des tisserands et des tricoteurs spécialisés.

Les produits et les matériaux textiles techniques de ce secteur sont utilisés pour les premiers soins, la rééducation, l’hygiène ou à des fins cliniques. En voici quelques exemples : produits d’entretien (lingettes nettoyantes), d’essuyage papier (papier toilette, essuie-tout, mouchoirs, débarbouillettes jetables et lingettes démaquillantes), d’hygiène pour bébés (couches-culottes et lingettes nettoyantes pour les soins personnels), d’hygiène féminine (serviettes sanitaires, protège-dessous et tampons), d’incontinence (couches-culottes et gants de toilette), d’orthopédie (bandes de plâtre, attelles et accessoires de plâtre), de soin des plaies (sparadrap chirurgical, bandages de rétention, compresses chirurgicales ou post-opératoires, bandages/ pansements adhésifs), et de thérapie par compression (bas et vêtements de compression et bandes herniaires), ainsi que des baldaquins hospitaliers, des chaises de bain, des masques respiratoires pour traiter l’apnée du sommeil, des piqués, des toiles de transfert pour l’ensemble des appareils de lève-personne et des uniformes.

Les propriétés des produits du secteur des textiles médicaux diffèrent selon leurs applications. Ils sont, entre autres, absorbants, adhésifs ou non adhésifs, antimicrobiens, anti-odeurs, anti-transpirations, cicatrisants, compressifs, durables ou à usage unique, élastiques, lavables, perméables à l’air et souples, et offrent une amplitude de mouvements pour plus de confort ainsi qu’une protection contre les rayons UV.

Plus d’un procédé textile sont employés dans ce secteur, notamment le non-tissé, le tissé et le tricot. 

Même si plusieurs de ces produits sont jetables, le développement durable est une préoccupation des entreprises de ce secteur. Des composantes de produits d’hygiène comme les fibres cellulosiques, les polymères super-absorbants (polyacrylate de sodium) ainsi que les films de plastique peuvent être traitées et revalorisées pour développer de nouveaux produits d’absorption de liquides.

 

La lutte contre la COVID-19 amène de nouveaux joueurs à se positionner sur le marché des ÉPI

En mars 2020, devant l’urgent d’agir face à la COVID-19, de nombreuses entreprises textiles - habituées à desservir d’autres marchés - se sont mobilisées et ont adapté leurs chaînes de production pour fournir en d’équipements de protection individuelle (ÉPI) les hôpitaux, CHSLD et autres institutions du système de la santé. Au plus fort de la crise sanitaire, plus de 80 entreprises québécoises produisaient des matériaux textiles, blouses médicales lavables ou jetables, masques chirurgicaux ou de procédure, couvre-visages, sarraus et une multitude d’articles de literie.

Aujourd’hui, plusieurs d’entre elles maintiennent cette production et ont investi dans des équipements spécialisés. Notre industrie du textile compte maintenant sur une chaîne de valeur complète en mesure de répondre à la demande et aux exigences du secteur de la santé, qu’il s’agisse de fabrication de fils techniques, de textiles, d’enduits ou traitements dédiés, de produits textiles ainsi que de tests notamment pour confirmer le niveau de protection (1, 2, 3, 4 ou N95).

 

Plusieurs entreprises se démarquent dans ce secteur, notamment CDRM, Dermagate, Dristex, Duvaltex, Entreprise Prémont, Essity Canada, Fempro, FilSpec, Georges Couray, Hudson Supplies, Innotex, Les Vêtements SP, Logistik Unicorp, Oratex, QSD, Quartz Co., Recyc PHP, RégitexStedfast, Stephan/H, TexelTextiles MontereyLes Tissus Geo. Sheard et Tricots Maxime.


© 2020 TechniTextile Québec